Governor appoints former Farrington principal, former HSTA exec to BOE

Gov. David Ige has appointed former teacher and principal Catherine Payne and former HSTA Chief Negotiator Dwight Takeno to the Board of Education. Current board member Margaret Cox from Kauai will be reappointed.

Payne is currently commissioner/chair of the State Public Charter School commission, and an educational consultant for Ke Alakai Mau, LLC.  She previously served as principal at Farrington High School and Olomana School, and was vice principal at Waianae High School. She taught English and social studies at Nanakuli High and Intermediate School. Payne is appointed to the “at large” seat and will serve as BOE chair if confirmed. She replaces Lance Mizumoto.

“My deepest thanks to Lance for his years of service on the board, his dedication and commitment to improving our public school system. I wish him the very best in all his future endeavors,” said Ige.

Takeno is currently the director of Administrative Services for the University of Hawaii System’s Office of the Vice President for Research and Innovation. He was also interim executive director and chief negotiator for the Hawaii State Teachers Association (HSTA) and interim state director and director of research and legislation for the United Public Workers Union, Local 646, AFL-CIO. If confirmed, Takeno will represent the City and County of Honolulu. He replaces Hubert Minn.

“I am grateful to Hubert for his hard work and contribution to improving Hawaii’s schools, and I wish him the best always,” Ige said.

Cox is being reappointed to her County of Kauai seat, having served on the BOE since 2014. She is a retired science teacher and principal of King Kaumualii Elementary and Chiefess Kamakahelei Middle Schools on Kauai. Cox was named Kauai Principal of the Year in 1996-97. She was elected to the BOE in 2004 and served until 2011 before being appointed to her current term in 2014.

The appointments are subject to approval by the Senate. If confirmed, they will each serve three-year terms starting on July 1, 2018.