2015 Elections Results

Updated June 9, 2015 3:13 p.m.

June 9, 2015

Aloha Colleagues,

Thank you again for voting in this year’s HSTA elections and making your voice count. We are pleased to announce our newly elected officials for HSTA’s state office and NEA’s positions:

HSTA State President: 

Corey Rosenlee, a social studies teacher, Campbell High School

HSTA State Vice President:

Justin Hughey, a special education teacher, King Kamehameha III Elementary School on Maui

HSTA State Secretary-Treasurer:

Amy Perruso, social studies teacher, Mililani High School

NEA Director:

Cliff Fukuda, social studies teacher and coach, Aiea High School

NEA Alternate Director:

Jonathan Gillentine, early learning specialist, Windward District office

Congratulations to our new officers! The HSTA looks forward to working with them to ensure a smooth transition. The new leadership team will begin their three year-term on July 8, 2015 through June 30, 2018. Our current state officers will serve through July 7, 2015.
The current NEA representatives will serve through August 31, 2015 and the new three-year term will begin September 1, 2015 through August 31, 2018.

On behalf of the current HSTA leadership team, I would like to thank all of you – our members, HSTA’s board of directors and staff – for the opportunity to serve teachers across the state in advocating for quality education for our students. It has been an honor and a privilege to serve with Vice President Joan Lewis and Secretary-Treasurer Colleen Pasco, who were instrumental in establishing a working contract for our teachers in 2013, in addition to a pay raise and enhanced benefits this year. Without their team work and commitment to improving teaching conditions, these major milestones would not have been possible.

We encourage you to stay engaged through ongoing updates from the HSTA and make your voice heard. Our state officers are here to serve you and will continue to lead the HSTA in supporting our members to reach, teach, and inspire.

Wil Okabe

Corey Rosenlee television interview

Voter turnout: 3,149 total ballots

Vote breakdown:
President: Corey Rosenlee (56.4%) Joan Lewis (43.6%)
Vice President: Justin Hughey (54.8%) Colleen Pasco (45.2%)
Secretary-Treasurer: Amy Perruso (100%)
NEA Director: Cliff Fukuda (52.2%) Fran Bellinger (47.8%)
NEA Alternate: Jonathan Gillentine (100%)

2014 Hawaii Delegation

Mahalo to the members representing Hawaii this year.

Click here to view list of delegates » (pdf)
Updated list as of June 23, 2015

News of the 2015 NEA RA: Hawaii Delegates 
Read more HERE>>>