For Immediate Release: June 9, 2015

Contact: Lea Okudara
Stryker Weiner & Yokota
Cell: (808) 729-6776
.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) 


New HSTA State Leadership Team to Serve through 2018

Corey Rosenlee

HONOLULU, HAWAII – The Hawaii State Teachers Association (HSTA) has announced its new state officers. Corey Rosenlee has been elected the new HSTA state president, along with Justin Hughey as the new state vice president and Amy Perruso as the new state secretary-treasurer.

“I would like to thank our teachers for taking the time to vote for their new leadership team,” said Wilbert Holck, HSTA executive director. “We will work closely with our new state officers to ensure a smooth transition.”

The current HSTA state leadership team will serve through July 7, 2015 and newly elected officers will start their three-year term on July 8, 2015.

“I offer my congratulations to our new team on their election,” said President Wil Okabe. “I wish them the best in leading our association as the HSTA continues to advocate for our teachers and for high-quality public education for every student across our state.”

Voting took place at various polling locations at schools throughout the state on Tuesday, June 2. Absentee ballots postmarked by June 2, were also available to those unable to vote at polling sites.

The HSTA’s Elections Committee tallied the ballots on Monday, June 8, as overseen by the League of Women Voters. Results were submitted and certified by the HSTA’s board of directors today, Tuesday, June 9.

Corey Rosenlee HSTA Interview

State President
Wil Okabe, a teacher at Hilo High School, is the current HSTA state president who served two terms from 2009 through this year. As the new state president, Corey Rosenlee will take leave from his social studies teaching position at Campbell High School.

State Vice President
Kapolei High School teacher Joan Lewis is the current HSTA state vice president who was elected in 2012. Justin Hughey, a special education teacher at King Kamehameha III Elementary School on Maui, was elected as the new state vice president.

State Secretary-Treasurer
The current HSTA state secretary-treasurer is Colleen Pasco, who was elected in 2012. The new state secretary-treasurer will be Amy Perruso, who is a social studies teacher at Mililani High School.

NEA Director
HSTA members also elected Cliff Fukuda as the National Education Association (NEA) director for the upcoming three-year term, which begins Sept. 1. He is a social studies teacher and coach at ‘Aiea High School. Jonathan Gillentine, an early learning specialist from the Windward District Office, will serve as the NEA alternate director.

# # #

About the Hawaii State Teachers Association: The Hawaii State Teachers Association is the exclusive representative of more than 13,500 public school teachers statewide. As the state affiliate of the 3.2-million-member National Education Association, HSTA represents and supports teachers in collective bargaining, as well as with legislative and professional development issues.