HSTA recommends these political candidates

After a lengthy process which included a candidate questionnaire, interviews, and a review of voting history, HSTA’s Board of Directors, in concurrence with the HSTA Government Relations Committee, recommends teachers vote for the following candidates in the upcoming primary election.

“We carefully reviewed their stances on important issues,” said HSTA President Corey Rosenlee. “So we are confident these candidates deserve teachers’ votes.”

The HSTA recommends the re-election of U.S. Senator Brian Schatz as well as U.S. Rep. Tulsi Gabbard, representing rural Oahu and the neighbor islands in Hawaii’s Congressional District 2. The HSTA also recommends sending Colleen Hanabusa back to Congress in the 1st Congressional District seat she previously held representing urban Honolulu in the U.S. House.

“The HSTA is proud to recommend these candidates and would like to thank all of the state lawmakers who listened to teachers’ voices during the 2016 legislative session and helped improve public education and the learning environment for Hawaii’s students,” Rosenlee said. “This session resulted in $100 million for cooler schools as well as additional funding for classroom supplies. As we move forward, we will continue to make education a priority to improve Hawaii’s public school system.”

Hawaii State House of Representatives

1 Mark Nakashima (D) 16 Dee Morikawa (D) 36 Beth Fukumoto-Chang (R)
2Clift Tsuji (D)17Gene Ward (R)37Ryan Yamane (D)
3Richard H.K. Onishi (D)19Bertrand Kobayashi (D)38Henry J.C. Aquino (D)
4Joy San Buenaventura (D)20Calvin K.Y. Say (D)39Ty J.K. Cullen (D)
5Richard Creagan (D)21Scott Y. Nishimoto (D)41Matthew LoPresti (D)
6Nicole E. Lowen (D)22Tom Brower (D)42Sharon E. Har (D)
7Cindy Evans (D)23Isaac W. Choy (D)44Jo Jordan (D)
8Joseph M. Souki (D)24Della Au Belatti (D)45Lauren Matsumoto (R)
9Justin H. Woodson (D)25Sylvia Luke (D)47Feki Pouha (R)
10Angus L.K. McKelvey (D)26 Scott K. Saiki (D)48Jarrett Keohokalole (D)
11Kaniela Ing (D)28John M. Mizuno (D)49Ken Ito (D)
12Tiare Lawrence (D)31Aaron Johanson (D) 50Cynthia Thielen (R)
13Lynn DeCoite (D)32 Linda Ichiyama (D) 51Chris Lee (D)
15James Kunane Tokioka (D)34Gregg Takayama (D)


Hawaii State Senate

1Kaiali’i Kahele (D)11Brian Taniguchi (D)
2Russell Ruderman (D)14Donna Mercado Kim (D)
5Gilbert Keith-Agaran (D) 19Wil Espero (D)
8Ronald Kouchi (D)20Mike Gabbard (D)
9Stanley Chang (D)22Donovan Dela Cruz (D)
10Les Ihara, Jr. (D)