HSTA recommends these General Election political candidates

After a lengthy process which included a candidate questionnaire, interviews, and a review of voting history, HSTA’s Board of Directors, in concurrence with the HSTA Government Relations Committee, recommends teachers vote for the following candidates in Nov. 8 General Election.

“We carefully reviewed their stances on important issues,” said HSTA President Corey Rosenlee. “So we are confident these candidates deserve teachers’ votes.”

In the presidential race, the HSTA recommends Hillary Rodham Clinton, a Democrat.

The HSTA recommends the re-election of U.S. Senator Brian Schatz (D) as well as U.S. Rep. Tulsi Gabbard (D), representing rural Oahu and the neighbor islands in Hawaii’s Congressional District 2. The HSTA also recommends sending Colleen Hanabusa (D) back to Congress in the 1st Congressional District seat she previously held representing urban Honolulu in the U.S. House.

“The HSTA is proud to recommend these candidates and would like to thank all of the state lawmakers who listened to teachers’ voices during the 2016 legislative session and helped improve public education and the learning environment for Hawaii’s students,” Rosenlee said. “This session resulted in $100 million for cooler schools as well as additional funding for classroom supplies. As we move forward, we will continue to make education a priority to improve Hawaii’s public school system.”

Here are the HSTA’s recommendations for the Hawaii State House of Representatives:

  • District 1, Mark Nakashima (D)

  • District 2, Clifton Tsuji (D)

  • District 3, Richard Onishi (D)

  • District 4, Joy San Buenaventura (D)

  • District 5, Richard Creagan (D)

  • District 6, Nicole Lowen (D)

  • District 7, Cindy Evans (D)

  • District 8, Joe Souki (D)

  • District 10, Angus McKelvey (D)

  • District 11, Kaniela Ing (D)

  • District 13, Lynn DeCoite (D)

  • District 16, Dee Morikawa (D)

  • District 17, Gene Ward (R)

  • District 19, Bert Kobayashi (D)

  • District 20, Calvin Say (D)

  • District 22, Tom Brower (D)

  • District 24, Della Au Bellati (D)

  • District 28, John Mizuno (D)

  • District 31, Aaron Johanson (D)

  • District 34, Gregg Takayama (D)

  • District 36, Beth Fukumoto Chang (R)

  • District 37, Ryan Yamane (D)

  • District 41, Matt LoPresti (D)

  • District 43, Stacelynn Eli (D)

  • District 47, Feki Pouha (R)

    NOTE: The HSTA Board of Directors took no position on State House districts 14, 29, 35, 40.

    Here are the HSTA’s recommendations for the Hawaii State Senate:

  • District 1, Kaialii Kahele (D)

  • District 2, Russell Ruderman (D)

  • District 9, Stanley Chang (D)

  • District 10, Les Ihara, Jr. (D)

  • District 11, Brian Taniguchi (D)

  • District 19, Will Espero (D)

    NOTE: The HSTA Board of Directors took no position on State Senate districts 13 and 15. The following Senate district seats are not up for re-election this year: 3, 4, 6, 7, 12, 16, 17, 18, 21, 23, 24.

    This year’s voter registration deadline is Oct. 10 and the deadline to request a mail ballot is Nov. 1. Contact the state Office of Elections at (808) 453-8682 for more information. Early walk-in voting begins on Oct. 25. The General Election will be held Nov. 8 when polls statewide are open from 7 a.m. to 6 p.m.