HSTA to send strong delegation to 2019 NEA Representative Assembly in Houston

Mahalo to all who plan to represent us at the national level

More than 100 elected members from the Hawaii State Teachers Association (HSTA) will take part in the largest democratic deliberative assembly in the world this summer.

The 2019 National Education Association (NEA) Annual Meeting takes place July 3–7 in Houston. Various committees, constituencies, caucuses, leadership groups, and delegates from state and local affiliates gather to set policy and chart the direction of NEA business.

The NEA's Representative Assembly (RA) takes place during the final four days of this meeting. It is the primary legislative and policymaking body of the Association and derives its powers from, and is responsible to, the membership. It adopts the strategic plan and budget, resolutions, legislative program, and other policies of the Association.

Delegates vote by secret ballot on proposed amendments to the constitution and bylaws. Delegates with full voting rights elect executive officers, executive committee members, and at-large members of the NEA Board of Directors as appropriate.

The RA consists of some 8,000 delegates representing state and local affiliates, student members, retired members, and other segments of the united education profession.

Here's a full list of Hawaii's delegation. In addition to chapter delegates, HSTA sends 15 state delegates, all of whom are elected to one-year terms during our Association's annual election.

Congratulations and mahalo to all who plan to represent us at the national level!


  • Claire Barroga, Palolo Elementary
  • Louise Cayetano, Fern Elementary
  • Gordon Chun, Kaiser High
  • Shannon Garan, Linapuni Elementary
  • De'Laine Guy, McKinley High
  • Laverne Moore, McKinley High
  • Inga Park Okuna, Kalihi Uka Elementary
  • Kaleo Ramos, Halau Ku Mana
  • Yung Richards, McKinley High
  • Lillian Shaw, Kawananakoa Middle
  • Sherry Takao, McKinley High
  • Scott Takata, Kalani High
  • Lynne Tanaka, Farrington High
  • Osa Tui Jr., McKinley High
  • Lawrence Wayman, Farrington High


  • Roberta Akiu, Mokulele Elementary
  • Elsa Catala, Solomon Elementary
  • Norma Combs, Aliamanu Middle
  • Cliff Fukuda, Aiea High
  • Cheryl Iwasaki-Chun, Helemano Elementary
  • Alvin Lacar, Aliamanu Middle
  • Amanda Lacar, Aliamanu Middle
  • Kristi Miyamae, Mililani Middle
  • Shirley Mori, Wheeler Middle
  • Logan Okita, Nimitz Elementary
  • Melissa Tam, Solomon Elementary


  • Kai Burley, Waianae High
  • Mikaela Callahan, Campbell High
  • Sherry Cassetta, Campbell High
  • Brandon Cha, Pearl City High
  • Stacey Chang, Mauka Lani Elementary
  • Jo-Lyn Correa, Maili Elementary
  • Aaron Day, Waianae High
  • Rebecca Hadley-Schlosser, Nanaikapono Elementary
  • Elizabeth Holmes, Campbell High
  • Ann Kaai, Waianae Elementary
  • Kelli Kaanaana, Holomua Elementary
  • Vickie Kam, Ilima Intermediate
  • Kimi Mark, Nanaikapono Elementary
  • Joyce Nakamura, Nanaikapono Elementary
  • Ann Nakamura, Makakilo Elementary*
  • Sonia Peralta, Nanaikapono Elementary
  • Julie Reyes Oda, Nanakuli High
  • Nathan Reyes Oda, Highlands Intermediate
  • Leilani Roberts, Waianae Intermediate
  • Corey Rosenlee, Campbell High*
  • Christine Russo, Campbell High
  • Joana Marie Sebastian, Campbell High
  • Shirley Yamauchi, Kapolei Middle


  • Jodi Beaty, Waimanalo Elementary and Intermediate
  • Catherine Dichner, Kalaheo High
  • Karin Hansen Del Rey, Kahuku High and Intermediate
  • Ashley Henion, Kainalu Elementary
  • Kana Naipo, Castle High
  • Micah Pregitzer, Kalaheo High
  • Crystal Stafford, Kalaheo High
  • Jamie Stidger, Castle High
  • Michele Tavares, Kailua Elementary*
  • Bobbye Yamamoto, Castle High*


  • Debra Borges, Pahoa Elementary*
  • Mireille Ellsworth, Waiakea High
  • Gayle Enriquez, Pahoa Elementary
  • Edwin Kagawa, Keaau Middle*
  • Cheney Kaku, Hilo Intermediate
  • Kawai Kawaileleohiilawe, Keaau High
  • Aaron Kubo, Hilo Intermediate*
  • Amy Masaoka, Pahoa Elementary
  • Angie Miyashiro, Kau High and Pahala Elementary*
  • Tina Miyataki, Keaukaha Elementary
  • Dawn Raymond, Waiakea High
  • Evette Tampos, Pahoa Elementary


  • Larry Denis III, Waikoloa Elementary and Middle
  • Juan Espinal, Konawaena Elementary
  • Jill Jacobs, Kealakehe Elementary
  • Teresa Spaulding, Kahakai Elementary


  • Shelby Greene, Kohala High


  • Jennifer Kaaikala, Lanai High and Elementary*


  • Melissa Turner, Honokaa Elementary


  • Marylyn Barbosa, Maui Waena Intermediate
  • John Fitzpatrick, Maui Waena Intermediate
  • Justin Hughey, Kamehameha III Elementary*
  • Shannon Kealoha, Maui Waena Intermediate*
  • Jodi Kunimitsu, Maui High
  • Daniel Lopez, Maui Waena Intermediate
  • Justine Malek, Kula Elementary
  • Lisa Morrison, Maui Waena Intermediate*
  • David Negaard, Baldwin High
  • Ashley Olson, Lahainaluna High*
  • Victoria Zupancic, Lahainaluna High


  • Tes Kaulia, Maunaloa Elementary
  • Diane Mokuau, Molokai High*
  • Uluhani Waialeale, Kualapuu PCCS*


  • Caroline Freudig, Kalaheo Elementary
  • Mariann Tabuchi, Kauai District Office
  • Sarah Tochiki, Kamakahelei Middle
  • Jeri Yamagata, Kauai High

Retired (HSTA-R)

  • Jean Dobashi
  • Beverly Gotelli
  • Roger Takabayashi
  • Linda Tavares
  • Vaughn Tokashiki
  • Justin Wong

Student (HSTA-S)

  • Liann Sanerivi

*State delegate

More links