New and renewing National Board Certified Teachers recognized for excellence

Ceremonies are being held on Kauai, Oahu, Maui and Hawaii Island

This week and next, the Hawaii State Teachers Association, Hawaii Department of Education and Kamehameha Schools are recognizing dozens of teachers across the state who have earned or renewed their National Board for Professional Teaching Standards Certifications.

Teachers who won recognition for meeting the highest teaching standards were honored in ceremonies on Oahu Thursday, and will be honored next week on Hawaii Island, Maui and Kauai; 54 of them work in public schools.

These teachers voluntarily undertook and completed the rigorous certification process to join the ranks of more than 700 National Board Certified Teachers (NBCT) in Hawaii.

Educators are required to complete four components: a computer-based assessment and three portfolio-based submissions that involve work samples, video recordings, and written commentary and analysis. The renewal process is just as demanding, requiring teachers to demonstrate professional growth. HSTA offers the NEA Jump Start program and candidate support sessions in partnership with Kamehameha Schools. It can take anywhere from one to three years to achieve certification, but those who have crossed the finish line say the benefits are well worth the time and effort.

NBCTs in Hawaii’s public schools receive a $5,000 annual stipend for the life of the certificate. NBCTs who teach in hard-to-staff areas receive an additional $5,000 annual stipend for a total of $10,000 annually.

Click here for more information on the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards.

Oahu and Molokai teachers were recognized Thursday at the Hawaii State Capitol Auditorium attended by Gov. David Ige, First Lady Dawn Ige (a longtime public school teacher and administrator), Superintendent Christina Kishimoto, HSTA President Corey Rosenlee, state lawmakers and other community leaders.

Neighbor island teachers will be recognized at the upcoming ceremonies:

  • Hawaii Island: Tuesday, Jan. 28, 4:30 p.m. at Kamehameha Schools Hawaii Campus - William Lunalilo Center (16-716 Volcano Rd., Keaau, HI 96749)
  • Kauai: Thursday, Jan. 30, 4 p.m. at Kapaa Elementary Library (4886 Kawaihau Rd., Kapaa, HI 96746)
  • Maui: Friday, Jan. 31, 4:30 p.m. at Kamehameha Schools Maui Campus - Keopuolani Hale (270 Aapueo Pkwy., Pukalani, HI 96768)

Click here to watch the video on YouTube.

Congratulations to the following HIDOE teachers who earned their certification:

  • Loren Ayresman, King Kekaulike High
  • Ana Concessa Bingham, Mountain View Elementary
  • Justin Brown, Kealakehe High
  • Kris Chan, Lehua Elementary
  • Melissa Ching, Red Hill Elementary
  • Ann Davis, Waikiki Elementary
  • Akeyo Garcia, Ewa Elementary
  • Joyce Haase, Kaunakakai Elementary
  • Catherine Hawkins, Innovations Public Charter School
  • Nicole Heinlein, Iao Intermediate
  • Leilani Hironaka, Red Hill Elementary
  • Kryssa Isobe, Leihoku Elementary
  • Andrew Jones, Admiral Arthur W. Radford High
  • Janice Kam, Nuuanu Elementary School
  • John Kluesner, Henry Perrine Baldwin High
  • Johnson Koo, Kapaa Elementary
  • Natalie Lalagos, Kealakehe High
  • Jonathan Loomis, President William McKinley High
  • Stephanie Muneno, Waialae Elementary
  • Demetra Pappas, Waianae Elementary
  • Yvette Rapozo, Kapaa Elementary
  • Amber Riel, Waianae High
  • Lynn Sakata, King Liholiho Elementary
  • Casi Segawa, Mayor Joseph Fern Elementary
  • Erin Takamura-luu, Red Hill Elementary
  • Allison Tanaka, Lehua Elementary
  • Lorianne Marie Telles, Leihoku Elementary
  • Cynthia Twibell, University Laboratory School
  • Jessica Uptegrove, Kalihi Kai Elementary
  • Christine Williams, Hana High & Elementary
  • Denise Yamada, Waipahu High
  • Lee-ann Yoshizumi, James Campbell High



Author: Keoki Kerr

Categories: NewsNumber of views: 995

Tags: certification NBCT national board